A Brief History

The Society was established in 1946 (then known as The Nyasaland Society) with membership open to all. The aims of the Society are to:

  • Promote interest in literary, historical and scientific matters
  • Discover and record facts and information about Malawi which might otherwise be lost
  • Acquire books on Africa generally but especially books relating to Malawi, to serve as a reference library to be maintained for the use of members and visitors
  • Support the museums of Malawi

The Society organises regular talks on a wide range of topics and publishes an excellent journal twice yearly. It also has an excellent library and archive located at Mandala House, Mandala, Blantyre. Open to both the public and Society members, the library offers a unique collection of books, documents and photographs of interest to browsers and researchers alike.


David Stuart-Mogg –  Editor


  • Carl Bruessow  – Chairman
  • Tawanda Madovi – Vice Chairman
  • Prof. Cornell Dudley – Hon. Treasurer
  • Kathy Paul – Hon. Secretary
  • David Stuart-Mogg – Hon. Editor
  • Vacant – Hon. Librarian


  • Sandy Dudley – Talks Organiser
  • Dr. Amelia Taylor – Website, IT and Media
  • Comfort Mthotha – Museum of Malawi Representative
  • Susan Tenga Tenga
  • Nancy Roebke – Lilongwe Branch
  • Rodney Tingokanyama
  • Rachel Warren


  • Ms. Kathy Paul
  • Prof. Silas Ncozana